Southern Cross
Australia Crest

The name for the Australian national flag. The design of the flag was chosen after a public competition in 1901, the year of Federation.

Southern Cross Flag

We have had four variations to the flag -

1901-1903: large six pointed Federation Star with five large Southern Cross stars. These stars have either 5, 6, 7, or 8 points, depending on their brightness.
1903-1908: large stars with four of the Southern Cross stars having 7 points and one with 5.
1909-1953: seven pointed Commonwealth Star to recognise the territories, all stars being smaller.

In 1953 the design was standardised by the Flags Act.

Copyright © Dinkum Aussies 1999 All Rights Reserved,
feedback to Webmaster