Michael Kirby
Australia Crest

High Court Justice educated at Fort Street High School.

At the end of May 99 the judge launched the 150th anniversary celebrations of his old alma mater. A book called Maroon and Silver will be launched to mark the sesquicentenary.

Other old boys are Australia's first Prime Minister Edmund Barton, Antarctic explorer Sir Douglas Mawson, Doc Evatt, Neville Wran, John Singleton, Sir Garfield Barwick, Dr. John Yu the 1996 Australian of the Year and ABC Chairman Donald McDonald.

The original school was at Observatory Hill but is now located since 1975 at Taverners Hill, Petersham, when the school became co-educational. The boys had moved to Petersham in 1916.

Copyright © Dinkum Aussies 1999 All Rights Reserved,
feedback to Webmaster