Carter Brown
Australia Crest

Prolific writer of mysteries Brown was born Alan Geoffrey Yates in England in 1923 and came to Australia after World War 11.

Writing under various pseudonyms Yates produced about six novels per year including the 'Carter Brown' mystery series in the 50s. Numbering over 100 books his winning formula was mystery, sex and violence.

With many being international bestsellers, selling hugely in USA, some of his titles are Corpse For Christmas, No Blond Is An Island, Blonde On The Rocks and Tomorrow Is Murder.

In 1983 Yates published his autobiography, Ready When You Are, CB.

Yates died in 1985.

Copyright © Dinkum Aussies 1999 All Rights Reserved,
feedback to Webmaster