Midnight Oil
Australia Crest

Band formed in 1976 whose music is influenced by social comment, especially environmental topics.

Lead singer Peter Garrett is ably assisted today by drummer Rob Hirst, Jim Moginie on guitar and keyboards, Martin Rotsey and Bones Hillman on bass.

Their first album was Midnight Oil in 1978 and performed at an anti-uranium mining concert.

The next album was Head Injuries in 1979 followed by Place Without A Postcard which was recorded in U.K. in 1981.

In 1982 they released 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 with Nick Launay.

In 1984 they recorded Red Sails In The Sunset with Launay in Tokyo.

In 1985 they toured U.S., U.K. and Europe followed in 1986 by the Black Fella/White Fella tour of the Top End with the Warumpi Band.

In 1987 the Oils released Diesel And Dust.

In 1989 they recorded Blue Sky Mining and performed on the back of a truck outside the New York offices of Exxon.

A live album Scream In Blue was released in 1992 followed by Earth And Sun And Moon in 1993.

1996 brought Breathe and 1997 saw the release of the 20,000 Watt RSL compilation.

1998 gave us Redneck Wonderland, considered by many to be their angriest album in years.

In 1999 S.O.C.O.G. asked Rob Hirst to assist in finding the official song for the 2000 Olympic Games.

Copyright © Dinkum Aussies 1999 All Rights Reserved,
feedback to Webmaster